Major Rebellions in Kerala

Kerala has seen some rebellions great in magnitude that changed the course of the history. Read about some of them below.

The land of Kerala has bore witness to many revolts in its long pre-independent history. These have brought monumental changes in society at large and deserve special mention in the history. Most of them were against casteism and ill-governance of the feuds. These revolts changed the course of the society and were written in golden letters in the history. Read about some of those revolts and rebellions here.

Attingal Revolts

In the years 1697 and 1721, the people of Anchuthengu in Attingal organised revolts against the British in response to the latter's monopoly of pepper trading. They were the first organised revolts against the British in Kerala.

In 1697, the revolters attacked the fort at Anchuthengu and in 1721, a group of British soldiers were killed by the people.

Pazhassi Rebellions

They were led by Pazhassi Raja with the support of people against the British. It was triggered by the wrongful tax the British government imposed on the pepper farmers. The first rebellion lasted from 1793 to 1797. The second one started on 1800 to last till 1805. In the end of the rebellion, Pazhassi Raja committed suicide. Some historians also argue he was killed.

Kurichya Rebellion

It was organised by the tribal people Kurichyas against the Wayanad invasion of British in 1812. It was led by Ramanambi, the leader of another tribe named Kuramba.

Malabar Rebellion

Also known as Moplah Rebellion, it took place in 1921. It was against the feudal landlords as well as the government. Wagon Tragedy, one of the greatest horrors in Kerala history happened during this rebellion. On 1921, hundreds of prisoners from the rebellion transported from Thiroor to Bellari jail enclosed in a wagon of a train. 64 of the prisoners were suffocated to death during the journey.

Vaikom Satyagraha

One of the most important rebellion in Kerala history. It was conducted for the right of lower casts to enter the roads leading to Vaikom temple. The satyagraha began on 30 March 1924 and ended in November 1925 following the declaration allowing the entry for Dalits to Temple roads. It was the first struggle against untouchability in Kerala.

Salt Satyagraha

It was the Kerala edition of Salt Satyagraha movement led by Gandhiji. It was led by K Kelappan, who is called Kerala Gandhi, at Payyannur Beach on 21 April 1930.

Guruvayoor Satyagraha

This rebellion was organised by Kerala Pradesh Congress C demanding entry for all Hindus to Guruvayoor temple. The commenced in 1931 November and ended in October next year. In 1947, Kshetra Praveshana Vilambaram ensured the temple entry to all Hindus.

Let us know how you like this article. Like it and Rate it below.
4.67K 0
0 stars - by 0 user(s)

Related Articles

Modern state appropriates all authority including a monopoly on violence and dispute resolution, and by specific laws, makes social self regulation illegal. In stark contrast to this, the Indian civilization evolved on the basis of self regulation of society through social means, where a central role was assigned to family, and the customs and traditions of people were the law..

Francois Bernier, a French physician attached to Mogul Court, has recorded how Aurangzeb, reprimanded his childhood tutor for not teaching him properly. He was particularly furious for his sycophantic undermining of foreign powers and for wasting a large part of his precious study time in learning Arabic, which was of no real use to Aurangzeb.

The Mughal architecture has contributed to the Indian culture heavily. Read about some of the best creations here..

Post Your Comment

There are no comments yet.